No Trade Agreement with the EU


The hopes that Peru, Colombia, and Ecuador had of beginning free trade negotiations with the EU suffered a setback. The current crisis in the Andean Community of Nations (CAN) was sited as a reason by the EU that the Andean nations were not yet ready to begin negotiations.

The director of Foreign Relations of the EU, Eneko Landaburu, announced that Brussels would begin negotiations with Central America but not with the South American nations. “What we need to know is what is the Andean Community. “Will it continue to be five nations, four, three” added a spokesperson for the Europeans. The option to negotiate as separate countries was not determined to be beneficial for the EU nor for the Andean nations.