Peruvians will be closer to Schengen visa exemption after June 2015


Peruvians are just months from exemption from the Schengen visa requirement for travel if all goes as expected, according to the European Union Ambassador to Peru.

The ambassador, Irene Horejs, announced that Peruvians will be exempt from the Schengen visa as the process continues to move in positive directions shortly after June 2015.

“I can not give the exact date, but I can tell everything is at its normal path. The European Council is about to call upon the Commission to start negotiating the visa-free regime agreement,” said Horejs, according to Andina news agency.

She told Andina that a Belgian delegation from Brussels will be sent to Lima within the next few months to bring the deal to a close. All that’s left to do is approve and implement.

The Schengen area is composed of Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Monaco, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. If the Schengen visa were to be lifted, Peruvians could travel to these countries without a visa. Upon arriving they could receive a three month tourist visa to freely pass through the region.

The ambassador expressed positivity that this will become a reality for Peruvians, as the climate economically and socially has improved in the South American country within the last 15 years. The European Union Ambassador to Peru reported the smooth and steady progression of the exemption process.